I've read most of the Father Brown stories, and I noticed a bit of time travelling takes place in them (not sci-fi time-travelling, but an ambivalence by the author to the fact that somethings couldn't have taken place while Father Brown was the rector of such-and-such parish or performing miracles in South America).

In any event, has any aficionado compiled a chronological order of G.K. Chesterton's Father Brown stories, and do any of Chesterton's other novels fit in the timeline?

  • 1
    It'd be nice to have a "chronological-order" or "chronology" I don't want to use "reading-order" because I don't think it much helps to read the stories in any particular order. Sep 26, 2022 at 16:31
  • BookSeriesInOrder.com only lists the publication order. OrderOfBooks.com claims that publication order is chronological order.
    – Rand al'Thor
    Sep 26, 2022 at 16:56
  • @rand I guess that's possible, just didn't seem likely. Maybe a closer read would explain why it's possible. It could be that the stories that appear out of order were presented as flashbacks. Sep 26, 2022 at 20:12
  • 1
    I have great affection for Chesterton, but I doubt he ever thought twice about chronology ... I believe he came up with an idea, and then thought of a reason for Father Brown to be where he was needed. In the same way, The Paradoxes of Mister Pond includes some excellent stories, but they tell us very little about the career of Mr Pond.
    – Barnaby
    Sep 29, 2022 at 0:52
  • 1
    Would you please cite a few examples of things that couldn't have happened.
    – Pete
    Oct 3, 2022 at 20:33


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.